An Open Letter to The National Opal Collection Management

THE NATIONAL OPAL COLLECTION
60 Pitt Street
Sydney 2000
Australia

To the Management:

This is to express my deepest disappointment as to how I, along with three visitors from the Philippines, were treated on the Pitt Street showroom in Sydney on July 13, 2011 – about 15 minutes before 4:00pm. A week ago, I went to your place to buy an opal necklace and was amazed of how friendly and accommodating the staff was so I was eager to take my friends, company trainees from our offshore location, to the showroom. They were given a promotional stub from their hotel, Oaks Maestri Towers in Sussex St., telling them of a free opal gift from National Opal.

I, being more familiar with the place, approached your staff politely, and I was shocked to find out that the old lady came back at me in ALL RUDENESS ONE COULD EVER IMAGINE, “Don’t do that. You have been here earlier! It’s not fair for us.” I told her, as nicely as I could, that it was the first time these three friends have gone to National Opal. Instead of toning down, she was still fuzzed and irritated, saying that it is not right for people to go back there and get as many opal souvenirs as they can. Luckily there were only a couple of customers around. How much humiliation could have our group had should there be a crowd of people in the place?

The old lady even mentioned: “They were the  three girls who walked in before! They live in the same hotel! They stayed here for the same number of months! Don’t abuse us!” WTF?!?! IN ALL OF YOUR STUPIDITY, if we are to put on a scam of TAKING AWAY YOUR PRECIOUS LITTLE OPAL PINS, WHY WOULD WE GIVE THE SAME INFORMATION? Again, I explained, there are a lot of trainees on our company staying at that hotel. And then she went on with the same rant. Again. And again. And again.

THIS IS NOT FAIR. I FELT HUMILIATED; HOW MUCH MORE MY FRIENDS WHO CAME THERE JOLLY TO FIND OUT MORE ABOUT OPALS (NOT JUST THIS FREE LITTLE OPAL PINS YOU SEEM TO BOAST OFF)? I WOULD LIKE TO EXPRESS THAT I AM DEEPLY HURT WITH THIS INCIDENT. WE CAN BUY OPALS. WE DID NOT COME JUST FOR THE FREE SOUVENIRS. WE DID NOT GO TO YOUR PLACE TO BE HAMMERED BY HARSH, IMPOLITE, AND MALICIOUS STATEMENTS.

I ACTUALLY HAD PLANS OF ALSO SENDING SOME OPALS FROM YOUR STORE TO MY FRIENDS IN MANILA THAT’S WHY I HAD TO GO BACK THERE ALONG WITH MY FRIENDS. HOWEVER, AFTER THIS, THANKS, BUT NO THANKS. YOU ARE EXPECTED TO GIVE THE SAME QUALITY OF SERVICES FOR EVERYONE — LOCAL RESIDENTS OR VISITORS ALIKE.

If you have a specific complaints department, let me know. It is important that your management know this. This is the first time I ever experienced this kind of service in Sydney. FIRST TIME, AND HOPEFULLY THE LAST. OH, DEFINITELY THE LAST FROM YOU.

A VERY DISSATISFIED CUSTOMER,

Raymon So

***

This is Xy, #breakingthesilence.

P.S. I don’t wish your business to go bankrupt. Karma has its own way; and I heard it’s a bitch.

Leave a Reply

