Haiku tu!

Haiku is a mode of Japanese poetry, the late 19th century revision by Masaoka Shiki of the older hokku, the opening verse of a linked verse form, haikai no renga. The traditional hokku consisted of a pattern of approximately 5, 7, 5.

Here’s my own few Haiku (I read somewhere that Haiku can be used in either singular or plural form):

“Nosebleed”

Unexpected times

I often feel it dripping,

It’s ordinary.

“Ronn”

Counting it out loud

My Arithmetic questions,

Answered correctly.

“Monster”

A lovely story…

At first it was what I thought –

I was a monster.

“Fifth of 8th”

Started with a walk

We enjoyed the company,

Ended in a cab.

“Uncoated”

How silly am I?

Wishing for influenza,

I walked in the rain.

“@;-“

I thought we’d just drink,

’2 bottles’ was your promise.

Then it’s more than that.

“SM”

Cautiously I glanced

For me you were very snob,

Glad we became close.

“Liar”

Just when I trusted,

You were just like all of them.

You are a loser.

“Urticaria”

I don’t understand

Where the hell did you come from,

I have to bear you.

“Curfew”

An order imposed,

Stay onyour couch; Don’t you leave.

Still I don’t follow.

***

PS: I admit that I am not good with literary stuff. Errr… Heheh… HAInaKU

This is a REPOST.

Original posting date: June 5, 2009

8 thoughts on “Haiku tu!

Leave a Reply

